FERTILE-BELTRAMI PUBLIC SCHOOL

Independent School District #599

REGULAR BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING 8:00 p.m., January 14, 2020

Fertile-Beltrami School Conference Room

The Board of Education of Independent School District #599 met in regular session at 8:00 p.m., Tuesday, January 14, 2020. The following were present: Matt Erickson, Nathan Stuhaug, Kylie Strem, Nathan Rasch, Paul Stromstad, April Swenby, Donna Genereux, Principal Messick, and Superintendent Clarke.

Visitors: Angie Whitcomb, Merrilee Forgit

Chairman Stuhaug called the meeting to order at 8:00 p.m.

Election of Officers

Erickson nominated Stuhaug for chairperson, Erickson moved, Rasch seconded, nominations cease and a unanimous ballot be cast. UC

Swenby nominated Erickson for vice-chairperson, Swenby moved, Stromstad seconded, nominations cease and a unanimous ballot be cast. UC

Rasch nominated Strem for clerk, Rasch moved, Erickson seconded, nominations cease and a unanimous ballot be cast. UC

Strem nominated Rasch for treasurer, Strem moved, Stromstad seconded, nominations cease and a unanimous ballot be cast.

Strem moved, Stromstad seconded to set the board appointments and committees as follows: Board Appointments:

Minnesota State High School League – Paul Stromstad Legislative Liaison – Paul Stromstad, April Swenby Pine to Prairie Vocational Board – Matt Erickson Polk County Family Services Collaborative—Ryan Opdahl

Board Committees:

Staff Development – Paul Stromstad, Kylie Strem
Technology – April Swenby, Kylie Strem, Nathan Rasch
Community Education – Matt Erickson, Nathan Stuhaug
Transportation – Nathan Stuhaug, Ryan Opdahl & Matt Erickson
Facilities – Nate Rasch, Kylie Strem & Matt Erickson
Negotiations – Nathan Stuhaug, Nathan Rasch & Matt Erickson
Policy/Meet & Confer – Ryan Opdahl, Matt Erickson & Nathan Rasch
Discipline – Nathan Rasch, Kylie Strem & April Swenby. UC

Erickson moved, Rasch seconded to designate the Fertile Journal as the official school newspaper and the Red River State Bank of Fertile and the PMA Financial Network, Inc.as the official depositories. UC

Rasch moved, Strem seconded to delegate the authority to make electronic transfers to the Superintendent, the bookkeeper will initiate electronic transfers upon approval of the superintendent. UC

Rasch moved, Stromstad seconded to set the school board meetings and informational meetings for Second Tuesday of each month at 8:00 p.m, and March mtg on Monday (due to Township Elections), Informational Meetings- the 4th Tuesday of each month. UC

Erickson moved, Rasch seconded to set the board per diem as \$85 per meeting, \$100 for meetings over 4 hours & board chair stipend of \$500. UC

Strem moved, Stromstad seconded to approve the minutes of the December 10, 2019 regular meeting, and Facilities Committee December 10, 2019, and Facilities Committee January 6, 2020. UC

Stromstad moved, Swenby seconded to approve the agenda as presented/amended. UC

The following made public comments: none

Cash balances for December were reviewed.

Erickson moved, Rasch seconded to approve payment of the January bills in the amount of \$789,796.70 for checks 3064-3083 and 63221-63338. UC

Dean Hitchen handout reported on the following: winter activities, end of 2nd quarter, Trap Team sign up 1/20/20.

Principal Messick reported on the following: KRJB Student of the week- Tessa Motteberg, AAA Winners- Olvia Ellingson & Hunter Hitchen, Jan 30th Business Activities Day, upcoming training for staff "Trauma Sensitive Schools."

Superintendent Clarke reported on the following: Summer theater grant=\$2,100, Voluntary Pre-K app has been submitted, summer project planning and facility cmt, Council of Collaborative membership.

Rasch moved, Stromstad seconded to approve the 19-20 Seniority list as presented. UC

Erickson moved, Strem seconded to approve a notice of assignment for Dorene Dufault-paraprofessional. UC

Stromstad moved, Swenby seconded to approve a notice of assignment for Mandy Abeld-paraprofessional. UC

Chairperson	Clerk
Chairman Stuhaug adjourned the meeting at 8:40 p.m.	
The next regular meeting is scheduled for 8:00 p.m., February 11, 2020	